Another random poem: Temptation

This one is also sort of about relationships; meaning to express what it’s like if you keep convincing yourself that your partner/boyfriend/girlfriend is something that they are not, and then getting hurt or disappointed every time they prove to be different than what you wish. But, I suppose it could also be applied to other situations of deluding oneself.

Again, please give me feedback if you have any ideas for improvement 🙂

Image from: http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_gUzdvfejUPA/TSGnErmYe6I/AAAAAAAAB_g/lizLGqw0bOE/s1600/temptation.jpg

Temptation

Temptation,

Like a sweet truffle-drizzled cream puff

So hard to resist,

So hard to remember

that you’re not really what you seem.

Delusion;

That’s what it really is

Imagining how sweet and nourishing you are

Because I want you to be,

And turn blind on what really is,

Yet reality will not comply.

Despair;

That’s what I will feel

If I keep fooling myself,

It hurts to let go of you

But it will hurt more to keep holding on.

Acceptance;

The consequences come

No matter what I make myself believe.

Effort and time won’t change

That there is discord

Between truth and desire.

Leave a Reply

