Poem Response #8

Starting Over…

by: Unknown

I’m trying to find something to base my life upon,
Something in this strange world that goes on and on.
As the years go by and time fades away,
What used to be “good days” are now filled with dismay.
Tomorrow comes, and then again, it goes,
And my ambition to become something more, grows and grows.
Around the corner, yet miles away,
The life I want now, gets closer each day.
All I’ve ever wanted was something to live for,
I don’t want to be this little person anymore.
I’ve been basing my life upon what others think,
I wish I could go back and redo everything, every time an eye would blink.
I’ve fought to become who I am and what I want to be,
I have to remind myself that one day, I will be free.
Free from the rules I followed as a child,
When everything was a game and life was so mild.
Now times have changed and I realize nothing is fair,
And sometimes it seems like nobody even cares.
It’s like no one pays attention to what I feel is best for me,
And what I think about the way some things should be.
I understand now, that I’m pretty much on my own,
And I know a lot of what I can do will never be known.
All the time, I think about everything I can’t say, what I have to keep in,
And by doing this, my thoughts only get more complicated and deepen.
Soon I hope to find out who I am, and what I am meant to become,
I want to know where I’m going, I don’t need to be reminded of where I came from.

Source: http://www.familyfriendpoems.com/poem/starting-over

Main Theme: Change

Date of reading: November 7th

My Response:

I think this poem is something almost anyone can relate to, because we all hardships and challenges in our lives, leading to personal change. This poem accentuates how delusions we may have about life can lead us to disappointment, or how life simply “isn’t fair” sometimes. Good people don’t get what they want, and bad people get a bigger share than they’d deserve. In this poem, the author talks mostly about who he/she is and who he/she wanted to be, and the disappointing realizations he/she made on his/her quest to find him/herself. There is a gradual shift from focusing on the past to focusing on the future; the poem starts off focusing on the past, as seen from her lines talking about years going by, and the “good days” that were in the past, and the days (tomorrows) just flying by. The first hint at the future comes in the lines “Around the corner, yet miles away, / The life I want now, gets closer each day.”, then the poem returns to the past until the lines “I have to remind myself that one day, I will be free.”. The past is then brought into focus again for the following two lines, and then the poem shifts into the present while the author talks about how times have changed and how she feels like no one cares. It stays focused on the present until the last two lines, where the shift to the future give the poem a sense of finality and completion.

I think this is a very good ending; it does not present a “solution” to the author’s troubles, but it generally helps people to stop bemoaning the past and instead look forwards to make a better future. As such, it does in a way give a resolution to the “story” of the poem (about the flow of time and changes that accompany it). At the beginning, it seems that the author is looking for a sense of continuity; an overlap of the past with the present, but then he/she decides to accept the present and try to make a change for the better in the future. In this way, the poem can also be about letting go (of the past).

Leave a Reply

